Photo by Alexander Krivitskiy on Unsplash

What Does Kissing Have to Do With Learning Chinese? | 誰知道學習新的語言跟”接吻”有關?

Essie (Sing & Learn Chinese)

--

Want to hear a couple Chinese learning stories?

Story #1:

There was an ESL (English as a Second Language) student whose English wasn’t great.

Every time he asked a question, he’d say “Excuse me! Excuse me!”

But because of his language challenges, the “Excuse me!” turned into “Cuse me!” and with his thick accent, “Cuse me!” turned into “Kiss me!”

The teacher and his classmates found this hilarious, but the poor student couldn’t understand why everyone started laughing whenever he tried to ask a question.

Story #2:

There was a foreigner who couldn’t speak Chinese well. One day he needed to find the bathroom, so he tried asking pedestrians for help.

But whenever he opened his mouth to say “excuse me,” everyone would run away (especially young, pretty women).

Why? Because this man’s Chinese pronunciation wasn’t exactly right, so every time he tried to say “excuse me” (Qǐngwèn) he accidentally said “kiss me” instead! (Qīng wěn)

Okay, storytime’s over. That was pretty funny, wasn’t it?

Telling these stories together makes them particularly entertaining. Who knew learning languages had so much to do with kissing? Or that English and Chinese learners had so much in common :)

Want More Chinese Tips, Tricks & Inspiration?

Then join our email list and grab your free copy of the Ultimate Chinese Pronunciation Chart!

--

--

Essie (Sing & Learn Chinese)

Learn Chinese through music & fun word-breakdowns :) Free pronunciation chart (pinyin/bopomofo) @ www.singandlearnchinese.com